a letter of love

Sweet Girl,

Do you know how much you are loved? Do you know there is  a love greater than anything you’ve ever experienced or could experience in another human being looking just for you? Did you know the Giver of this love knows you inside and out and loves you for all of you. Did you know the Giver IS Love?

When I saw you walking home in the early morning with disheveled hair and black eyeliner smudged around your barely-opened eyes in your white coat that was just long enough to cover your mini skirt and leave your panty-hose covered legs exposed to the below freezing temps, my thoughts went right to my college days. And maybe I’m projecting my poor choices on you, but somehow I think you made a poor choice the night before. Was it the good looking guy you’ve had your eye on since last semester that finally showed interest? Or did you drink enough the night before that you passed out? Cold. Perhaps you just crashed at a friend’s house and no one was able to drive you home at 8:00 in the morning. I hope it was a harmless sleepover. But I remember college. I remember.

Sweet girl, do you know how much you are loved? Do you know how beautiful you are? You, yes you were made in the image of the Creator. The God who made this entire universe, majestic mountains and rolling seas. He. Made. You. AND. He. Loves. You.  He loves everything about you and it breaks His heart when you give yourself to another. He is jealous for you. And not in an abusive boyfriend way, but in the way a parent is jealous for his child to experience all she can.

Maybe one day I will be able to tell you about the Lover that waits for you. Until then Sweet Girl, my prayers are with you.

About Lindsey Zarob

I’m an ordinary 30-something woman following Jesus and trying to live the best life I can. View all posts by Lindsey Zarob

Leave a Reply

