after

I’m reading Praying the Names of God by Anne Spangler in my devotions and currently I’m reading about YAHWEH (LORD). I thought I’d quickly share about the little kick in the butt I got through this devotion :-)

Exodus 3 is where the scene unfolds in which God meets Moses, tells him he will rescue the Israelites and if they ask who sent him, he is to say God. Moses asks God what he should tell them if they ask for His name. And God responds, “tell them I AM has sent you.” Now I could try to go into what God means by I AM, but that’s not really what stood out to me this week. What really stood out to me is the preceding portion of the passage.

Moses questioned God, why me? Why send me to do this?

And instead of explaining why He chose Moses, God says:

“I will be with you. And this will be the sign to you that it is I who have sent you: When you have brought the people out of Egypt, you will worship God on this mountain.”

Do you see it? God didn’t answer Moses’ question. He doesn’t have to. If God tells us to do something, we need to trust.  But that’s not the part that really stood out to me this time. What did was the sequence of events. God said you will know it is I who sent you because after you bring them out of Egypt you will worship me. See that, AFTER you bring them out of Egypt. AFTER! AFTER you step out in faith and follow my leading you will know it is I who have sent you.

I ask for God to confirm matters of stepping out in faith over and over and over again.  And I question if I’m really the right person for the task over and over and over again. Ahh, but that’s faith. Stepping out and trusting God to do what He does best. Be with me, walk with me, lead me, guide me, keep me.

Happy Saturday :-) go step out in faith today!

About Lindsey Zarob

I’m an ordinary 30-something woman following Jesus and trying to live the best life I can. View all posts by Lindsey Zarob

One response to “after

Leave a Reply

