i…but i’m not a…

I’ve been thinking a lot about what defines me. As I spend time in this blog world for personal and professional reasons I see so many blog writers “specializing” and focusing on certain things. It ranges from things in which they are talented like photography or cooking to hobbies like scrapbooking, to a specific role they play in life like mommy bloggers, or even a specific season in life—the 20-something exploring life, laughter and love in the BIG city.

So I’ve been asking myself, should I focus this blog on something specific? If so, what makes me, me?

But here’s the thing:

I write. But I’m not a writer.

I photograph.  But I’m not a photographer.

I make jokes (albeit jokes that only I find funny). But I’m not a comedian.

I decorate interiors. But I’m not an interior decorator.

I rock climb. But I’m not a rock climber.

Along those lines:

I’m a wife. But if I didn’t tell you, you might not know.

I’m a sister. But if I didn’t tell you, you might not know.

I’m a daughter. But if I didn’t tell you, you might not know.

And then I thought:

I love the Lord. But if I didn’t tell you, would you know?

Do my actions speak of His love?

Does my countenance speak to the grace that He has given me?

Do my reactions show where my trust lies?

So I didn’t find the answer to my question that I hoped for. I was really hoping for some kind of epiphany in regards to some secret talent that I just barely discovered and now this hidden secret talent will be my inspiration to make this blog the blog of all blogs. Ha!

But what I did find in asking the question is where my heart really lies. No matter my interests, no matter what talents the Lord may have blessed me with, no matter what role I might play in this life God has given me, if I am not known by my love for the Lord and His love for me, none of it really matters. My talents aren’t very talented and the roles I fill will not bear fruit.

So, this blog really is just a random documentation of my life and by God’s grace, His love will shine through no matter what I’m blogging about.

Christy Nockels says it best with this song:

Brothers, let us come together

Walking in the Spirit, there’s much to be done…

We will come reaching, out from our comforts

And they will know us by our love…

Sisters, we were made for kindness

We can pierce the darkness as He shines through us…

We will come reaching, with a song of healing…

And they will know us by our love!

The time is now

Come Church arise…

Love with His hands

See with His eyes…

Bind it around you,

Let it never leave you,

And they will know us by our love…

Children, You are hope for justice,

Stand firm in the Truth now, set your hearts above

You will be reaching, long after we’re gone,

And they will know you by your love!

About Lindsey Zarob

I’m an ordinary 30-something woman following Jesus and trying to live the best life I can. View all posts by Lindsey Zarob

Leave a comment